Politics, Sports, Business, Entertainment and News you will get nowhere else.

Thursday, 21 July 2016

Saraki reshuffles Senate standing Committees

Senate President Bukola Saraki, has reshuffled the leaderships of the Senate’s committees.

Saraki’s most outspoken critic, Kabiru Marafa, was appointed chairman of the Petroleum (downstream) Committee. He was chairman of the Committee on National identity and Population.

Also, Oluremi Tinubu, a key member of the anti-Saraki Unity Forum, was named chairperson of the Committee on Environment.

Previously, she headed the Committee on Women Affairs.

Mr. Saraki made the announcement shortly before the senate adjourned on Thursday.

Suleiman Hukunyi, another critic of the senate president, is now in charge of the Committee on National Identity.

The re-composition of the Senate committees was one of the conditions put forward by Unity Forum Senators for peace to return to the troubled red chamber.


1)Senator Hope Uzodinma, Chairman, Senate Committee on Customs

2)Senator Adamu Aliero, Chairman Senate Committee on Aviation

3)Senator Oluremi Tinubu, Chairman, Senate Committee on Environment

4)Senator Kabiru Marafa, Chairman, Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum

5)Senator Jibrin Barau, Chairman, Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND

6)Senator Binta Marsi Garba, Chairman, Senate Committee on Women Affairs

7)Senator Joshua Dariye, Chairman, Senate Committee on Public Procurement

8)Senator James Manager, Chairman, Senate Committee on Solid Minerals

9)Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe, Chairman, Senate Committee on Power

10Senator Hunkuyi Suleiman, Chairman, Senate Committee on National Identity

11)Senator Suleiman Adokwe, Chairman, Senate Committee on National Orientation and Information

12)Senator Jide Omoworare, Chairman, Senate Committee on Legislative Compliance

13)Senator Baba Kaka Garbai, Chairman, Senate Committee on Rules and Business

14)Senator Tijani Kaura, Chairman, Senate Committee on Federal Character

15) Senator Ahmed Ogembe, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Marine Transport

16)Senator Omo Agege, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Land Transport

17)Senator Philip Aduda, Vice-Chairman, Senate Committee on Downstream Petroleum

No comments:

Post a comment

Disclaimer: Comments made by readers of this blog are strictly the views and opinions of the writers and not that of Nedu Echianu's Blog.

Credit is given to the original sources of culled stories, but in a situation where your story is wrongfully credited to someone else, please contact neduechianu@gmail.com for an immediate correction.

For eye witness reports, stories and features which you want published on this blog please contact me on +234-8037036168 or neduechianu@gmail.com.